If a participant receives a connection error, it's possible that the system has timed out due to inactivity.
HealtheKnowledge is built on the Moodle learning management system. Moodle has a built-in security feature, known as a timeout, that will disconnect the user (logout) from Moodle if the participant is not active for a certain period of time. This timeout is set for a maximum of 3-hours in order to facilitate participation in longer courses.
There are certain cases where a participant could be logged out of the system, but still believe they are interacting with the course.
If a participant were to leave their course open, walk away, and then return the next day, their connection with HealtheKnowledge would no longer be active, even though the page might still appear on their computer screen. In this case, the participant can still interact with the page they left open (Ex: watch a video on the page), but when they try to progress from there, the connection will show that it had timed out (logged the user out) and the system will not have marked any progress made after the time out (EX: If they watch the video in the previous example, and then try to progress to the next part of the course, they could find themselves logged out and the video they just watched would not be counted towards their progress in the course).